Network and Sharing

previous -|- index -|- users -|- new user -|- system -|- network -|- views -|- end -|- next

This is a general Microsoft Windows XP overview of some Network items, and folder sharing.

User Accounts

Start and Control Panel

Help page 08 image 001

The Control Panel has TWO(2) Views - Category and Classic

Control Panel - Category View

Help page 08 image 002

Control Panel - Classic View

Help page 08 image 003

Both views have - User Accounts - double click 'User Accounts' -

Help page 08 image 004

top


New User and Passwords

The above Users Accounts window is used to add, delete, or change any and all user accounts. To add a new User and Password -

FIRST, a password MUST be added to the 'Administrator' account, and some name, usually the Company owner's name, must be added to this 'special' account. Only then should other 'user' accounts be created.

This 'special' account should ONLY then be used to add new programs, or delete programs from the machine, and some other 'administrative' tasks ...

All other machine users should be given what is called a 'limited' account, but they would find they could do almost everything ... and for each of these users, a new account should be created ...

Create a new account

Help a8 image 001

Click [ Next ] ... and select the account type - Administrator or Limited. A user does NOT need to be an administrator to do most things ... Click [ Create Account ] ...

Help a8 image 002

This only CREATES the account, and as yet it does not have a password

Help a8 image 003

Click on the new account ... and click -> Create a password

Help a8 image 004

Click -> Create a password. Enter the password twice, and a 'hint' about the password - then click [ Create Password ] ...

Help a8 image 005

You can also change the picture to an photo of the person, or some other image. This user would then join the list of users -

Help a8 image 006

Note, on this machine the 'Guest' account is 'off'. That means it is NOT enabled at all. The 'Guest' account can be turned on and given a simple password, and this would effectively be a forth user in this machine.

The other three accounts are 'Password protected'. If really necessary, all users could be given 'administrator' privileges, but this is certainly NOT recommended.

Then this 'User Accounts' window can be CLOSED.

When the machine next boots, it will stop at a log in screen, which will show the available users, one of which will of course be the administrator, and the others that use the machine.

Help a8 image 007

Selecting one of the User ICONS, and that User can sign in using their password.

Help a8 image 008

top


System Properties

To get to the System Properties, in Category View you must first click Performance and Maintenance, then the System Icon. In Classic view, the System Icon is shown.

The System Properties window has multiple tab, like -
[System Restore], [Automatic Updates], [Remote], [General] - the default, [Computer Name], [Hardware], and [Advanced].

The window usually opens showing the General TAB -

Help page 08 image 005

Selecting the 'Computer Name' tab shows -

Help page 08 image 006

The 'Description' of the computer is not too important, but to work with other computers on a LAN, the 'Workgroup' MUST BE THE SAME. This, and the Computer Name can be set using the [ Change... ] button.

Help page 08 image 007

 

Network Details

To view what this computer sees on the LAN, start with the 'My Computer' window ...

The 'My Computer' window can be usually accessed in several ways -

(1) Top left Desktop ICON - double click

Help page 08 image 008

(2) Through Start

Help page 08 image 009

This 'My Computer' window can show in MANY sizes, and styles

Help page 08 image 010

In the left pane of this window, the 'Other Places' needs to be expanded if it is closed - click on the two down arrows -

Help page 08 image 011

In the expanded view, 'Other Places' should show

Help page 08 image 012

Clicking on 'My Network Places' should show in the main pane, what other computers, and shared folders, this computer sees on the LAN ...

Under -- Local Network -- it should show 'Shared Folders' it is sharing with other computers, if any, and under -- Internet -- it should show 'Shared Folders' on other computers, and perhaps some FTP internet sites.

As can be seen in the following the ICON shown designates the difference -

Help page 08 image 013

For LOCAL shared folders

Help page 08 image 014

For NETWORK shared folders

Help page 08 image 015

For INTERNET FTP Sites

Help page 08 image 016

Double clicking on one of the NETWORK Shared Folders, in this case 'SharedDocs on New HDD' should show you its contents -

Help page 08 image 017

Using this, files could be Dragged and Dropped into another folder on this computer - This would show READ access. And a file from this computer could be Dragged and Dropped into this NETWORK shared folder - This would show WRITE access in the target machine.

Also back to the 'My network places' window, there should be a left pane item - View workgroup computers.

Help page 08 image 018

Clicking on this 'View workgroup computers' should show which computers belong to this workgroup, one of which should be ITSELF! - In this case, this is the Del01 machine -

Help page 08 image 019

Double clicking on a NETWORK computer, in this case 'New HDD 26.2.2007 (Pro-1)', will show a list of what it 'shares' ...

Help page 08 image 020

And again double clicking the network shared folders will show the contents of that folder ...

top


Folder Views

The above is the Tile View - The list of view is Thumbnails, Tiles, Icons, List, and Details. Use the button in the tool bar to select other views -

Help page 08 image 021

Icons -
Help page 08 image 022

List -
Help page 08 image 0223

Details -
Help page 08 image 024

Thumbnail - this is usually more for images -
Help page 08 image 025

It usually remembers the last view it was set to. The general default is Tiles.

Geoff McLane
Tuesday, November 06, 2007.
EOF - lou-137g1.doc

top


checked by tidy  Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional